Nepal's Presidential Election re-polled, Paramananda Jha Nepal’s first vice-prez, re-election for prez

Finally held, presidential election to choose one of the three Presidential Candidates for the First President of Nepal, today could not decide for the candidate as none of the Rams got required number of votes.

The decision of vice-president has been finalized. Madhesi Janaadhikar Forum’s Paramananda Jha has been elected as Nepal’s first vice-president. He defeated two female candidates on the election.Click here to read the news in detail/full article.

Paramananda Jha- Republic Nepal's first vice-president

Madhesi People’s Rights Forum candidate Paramananda Jha was elected as the first vice president of the federal democratic republic of Nepal. However, none of the three candidates vying to be the first president of Nepal could garner a clear majority of at least 298 votes.
Today’s Constituent Assembly (CA) meeting will fix a new date for the presidential post run-off.

Maoist candidate Ram Raja Prasad Singh, Nepali Congress (NC)’s Dr Ram Baran Yadav and CPN-UML’s Ram Prit Paswan were vying to be Nepal’s first president. Likewise, Maoist’s Shanta Shrestha, NC’s Maan Bahadur Bishwakarma, UML’s Asta Laxmi Shakya and MPRF’s Parmananda Jha are the candidates for the vice-presidential post.

Earlier today, the CA members had cast their votes to choose Nepal’s new president and vice-president.
Of the total 594 voters registered, 578 CA members cast their ballots while 16 CA members stayed away from the voting centre.
As per the election programme, a re-election will be conducted between the two candidates securing highest number of votes if none of the candidates could garner a clear majority (298 votes).

Rastriya Prajatantra Party-Nepal, National People’s Front Nepal and Nepal Workers and Peasants Party boycotted the election.
Voting began at around 11:15 am at the International Convention Centre in the capital and concluded at 2:30pm.
Voting was delayed for some time as new alliances were forged among the parties at the eleventh-hour.
The Election Commission had extended the voting period till 2.30pm. It had earlier fixed the time from 11am to 2pm today.

For more information visit:


About The Author

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top